14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2015 8:18 AM by john beardsworth

Just got Lightroom 6 and need to import from Aperture (OS X)

alfredojahn

Hello. I am new to this forum. I just purchased Lightroom 6 (desktop version) from Amazon. i am running it on an iMac (Yosemite). I have a 135GB Aperture library. As part of the installation, I launched the application. It asked me where I wanted to put my library. I trie to cancel the launch, but selecting "cancel" ended up creating my library in my "Pictures" folder. It also came up asking me to "Import". I just closed the application, since I'm still not sure what and where I want to put things.  I have an external Firewire 800 1TB drive. I thought that might be a good place to store my imported library.

Can someone help me? I am a software engineer by day, so I am pretty computer savey.

I currently have my Aperture library in my Pictures folder. As I understand it, LR can import that library and it will put all the pictures in a file system (directory hierarchy?)

Should I put that on the external drive?  Another question, I also have an iPhoto library. Can I import both into a single LR library?

Thanks in advance.

Alfredo

• 1. Re: Just got Lightroom 6 and need to import from Aperture (OS X)
          john beardsworth Adobe Community Professional & MVP

alfredojahn wrote:

Can someone help me? I am a software engineer by day, so I am pretty computer savey.

I currently have my Aperture library in my Pictures folder. As I understand it, LR can import that library and it will put all the pictures in a file system (directory hierarchy?)

Should I put that on the external drive?  Another question, I also have an iPhoto library. Can I import both into a single LR library?

Thanks in advance.

Alfredo