9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2015 7:07 AM by johndys

Script Help: Layer names based on Excel Data

johndys Level 1

Hello!

I'm a scripting noob and have been trying to learn but unfortunately I just don't have the time. Projects at work keeps me at bay. Anyhow, here is my scenario and hopefully someone can guide me.

I want a script that would look at a database (XML, CSV, excel or whatever works) and create separate layers in illustrator based on the data.

Example: part number and description is from a database. Illustrator Layer Name is what I want the script to automate. The reason for this request is a 200 item project that I don't want to re-type.

part numberdescriptionIllustrator Layer Name
      33456Item 133456_Item 1
      33457Item 233457_Item 2
      33458Item 333458_Item 3
      33459Item 433459_Item 4
      33460Item 533460_Item 5
      33461Item 633461_Item 6
      33462Item 733462_Item 7
      33463Item 833463_Item 8

After I have all my items laid out with correct layer names, i export each layer as a separate PDF. The file name of the export would be the same as the layer name with  "_1up" appended at the end. For example, 33456_Item 1_1up.ai.

I would have a separate illustrator file that contains all the same layer name as above and I would then place the exported file to it's respected layer. This is where the another script would be great. Is it possible make to a script that will place an image to a layer that has similar naming structures (the only differences would be the layer name wouldn't have "_1up")?

Hopefully this makes sense and I know I'm asking alot. Thank you very much in advance!

• 1. Re: Script Help: Layer names based on Excel Data
          Qwertyfly... Level 4

nothing to hard there. but need some more info.

sounds like you want:

excel to layer names

part files to each layer

export each layer

re import to layers

add image

if you have the parts and they are named then this sounds like too much.