0 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2006 2:44 PM by kimbflex

Flexbuilder wishlist

kimbflex Level 1
      After 4 or 5 months using Flexbuilder 2 here is my Christmas list for things that I'd like Adobe to take a look at. Maybe someone would like to comment as my major issues relate to the RADness of this as a programming environment and it's failure to achieve this in a number of areas.

Flexbuilder is somewhat great but not that great.

1. Flexbuilder is horribly slow, not just the compilation stage which I could put up with but the whole IDE. It seems the longer you use it the slower it gets. Even on a top whack machine it eventually slows up after a couple of hours programming . My applications can run to thousands of lines of code, you get the feeling that doing anything beyond looking at the Adobe demos isn't going to work properly.

How do other people get over the 2000 code line mark in Flex? It seems to be the killer for Flexbuilder at the moment. Every character can take up to 30 seconds to register.

I've written something like 30,000 lines of code in other IDEs like Delphi 10 years ago on much lower spec machines without these problems.

2. Eclipse weirdness. I managed to lose a whole days work by copying a backed up version of an mxml file into a project directory, renaming the current mxml as .bak, I opened that file, copied some stuff out of it, then deleted it, then I renamed the bak file back to mxml, at this point FlexBuilder deleted my original file. Nightmare. No way of getting it back either. I also don't like the way it deems necessary to make another copy of everything in the /bin folder as this just slows everything down even more.