2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2015 7:41 PM by Bill Gehrke

What to buy? RAM ? CPU? SSD? Please help.

cc7934735 Level 1

Hi Guys,

My current laptop isn't handling PrPro. Its brand new i7, 12GB RAM, but its not playing video smoothly in the editing process. Looking at buying something more substantial.

I have roughly 200GB of 1080p GoPro video I need to work with to make a 1/2 - 1 hour video. I bought a new laptop but obviously I need something better. I'm brand new at this, and don't understand a lot of the computer language.

The price of some of the high performance gaming desktops I was looking at is between $2000 and $4000, really hoping for some advise before spending so much. As an example; will the specs of the desktop below help me? Will it make the program work faster and not freeze up and skip in the editing process?

If its helps I'm looking at the Costco.com site,(Desktop Towers) just so I can return if I end up not liking it. There are many desktops on there with varying RAM, and SSD. What's best?  Some have higher RAM, but lower SSD, and vise versa.

What are you guys running? Any recommendations and info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Clarissa

CyberpowerPC Desktop | Intel Core i7 | 2GB Graphics | Windows 8.1 Professional | Liquid Cooled

Processor & Memory:

• Intel Core i7-5820K Processor 3.3GHz
        • 64GB DDR4 RAM

Drives:

• 2TB 7200RPM SATA3 Hard Drive + 120GB Solid State Drive
        • DVD-RW (Writes to DVD/CD)

Operating System:

• Microsoft® Windows 8.1 Professional (64-bit)

Graphics & Video:

• 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 Graphics

Communications: 

• 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN

Audio:

• Integrated High Definition 7.1 Channel Audio Processing

Keyboard & Mouse:

• USB Keyboard
        • USB Mouse

Expandability (Total Slots): 

• 2x 5.25" External
        • 1x 3.5" External
        • 7X 3.5 Internal
        • 1x 2.5" Internal
        • 4x PCI-E x16
        • 2x PCI-E x1
        • 8x DIMM 240-pin

I/O Ports & Slots: