4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2015 3:48 PM by JimHess

How to only export top of stacks of a collection from desktop LR to mobile LR?

qoolimages

i am a beginner with LR as I just switched from Aperture.In my collections i use stacks. When the stacks are closed i can only see the top of stacks which is picture nbr 1 of each stack. Tihs is what i used to export or sync from Aperture, but when doing the same with LR i get the whole collection instead in LR mobile. How can I limit the sync to top of stacks only? Thanks in advance for your help

• 1. Re: How to only export top of stacks of a collection from desktop LR to mobile LR?
          dj_paige Level 9

If you are using static (regular) collections, you'd need to remove the files that are not at the top of the stack from the collection.

If its a smart collection, you'd need to set some criterion so that the photos that are not at the top of the stack are not included in the smart collection — for example, assign the color label purple to the photos to be excluded and then in the smart collection definition, add a criterion so that photos cannot have a purple color label

• 2. Re: How to only export top of stacks of a collection from desktop LR to mobile LR?
            qoolimages Level 1

hi dj_paige, i am using static collections in which i have all my shots. In Aperture i used to build stacks which automatically synced only the top of stacks which is the only picture that i want to show to my customers. I do not want to delete the other pictures as they can be useful later on too. And Inwould like ot avood having to duplicate each of my customer static collections with a smart collection. Is ther some kind of preset/parameter for the sync with mobile LR in order to onlybsync the selected pictures, or any other solutino not requirîg to duplicate collections of delete lots of pictures?

• 3. Re: How to only export top of stacks of a collection from desktop LR to mobile LR?
              dj_paige Level 9