14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2015 12:39 PM by Peter Spier

InDesign PlugIns

greendreamer86

I am a Marketer and Graphic Designer who uses my company's Adobe CS4 program for my InDesign, Photoshop, and Illustrator needs. Recently, my company updated my computer. While waiting for all of my programs from my old computer to get moved to my new computer, I downloaded a 30 day free trial of the Adobe Creative Suite. Within those 30 days, I did use the programs to create and produce a lot of new material. However, I did NOT update or change any of older materials within the newer version of Adobe. Just a few days ago, I uninstalled the files for the 30 day trial and began using my CS4 program again - which at this point had been installed on my new computer. Now, when I use InDesign I get messages about how files (Old files that were created in CS4) can't be opened because I need to update InDesign's plug-in SHAREDCONENT.RPLN. A second box pops up and it shows all of the plugins associated with the SharedContent. I am confused as to how a file created in CS4 can no longer be opened in CS4 just because a newer trail version was downloaded. Can someone assist with this?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: InDesign PlugIns
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You need to reopen all of those files in the new version and save them as IDML.

• 2. Re: InDesign PlugIns
            greendreamer86 Level 1

The files I am trying to open were never open in the newer version of InDesign. So how were they affected?

And that is thousands of files. There is no way to fix this without having to re-save every file?

• 3. Re: InDesign PlugIns

Perhaps not to your knowledge but I’m willing to bet they were. Just to be sure though, if you post one of them somewhere I’ll be happy to take a look at it and let you know.

• 4. Re: InDesign PlugIns
                greendreamer86 Level 1

And where can I post one?

Thank you!

• 5. Re: InDesign PlugIns

Dropbox would work.