5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2015 6:18 AM by rob day

Need help with image resolution issues printing to PDF

susanb23057128 Level 1

I wasn't sure whether to put this in the InDesign or Acrobat forum. I'm new at InDesign and have been learning as I go, so I'm sure I'm not doing something correctly.

I'm creating a children's book. My images are 300 dpi. I am placing them into the document without resizing them. They look perfect. But the preflight and Createspace previewer says that three of the full page images have a resolution less than 200 DPI. Two others I did make a bit smaller and they are also coming up as low resolution.

Do you have any suggestions on how to figure out why these others are coming out as lo res?

Thanks,

Susan

• 1. Re: Need help with image resolution issues printing to PDF
          Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee

There are a number of issues here.

(1)  If your original images placed into InDesign have an effective resolution (after whatever scaling you do of the imagery in InDesign) of less than 200 DPI, there is nothing you can do about it other than retrieving higher resolution versions of such imagery from wherever you sourced the images. Yes, you could conceivably edit the images in Photoshop and increase the resolution, but that process doesn't do anything better than what the printer's RIP/DFE will do at print time anyway.

(2)  You didn't specify the joboptions that you used for creating the PDF. If those joboptions call for downsampling imagery, that could be the issue.

(3)  You mentioned “printing to PDF.” Hopefully that isn't what you are doing. The recommended procedure for producing PDF from InDesign is via the export function, more explicitly export PDF (print). The print function from InDesign was not designed for PDF creation and one of the options in the print menu (for optimal subsampling, if I recall correctly), will lower image resolution. Use Export!!!!!!

- Dov