11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2007 12:04 PM by schjlatah

Passing variables between mxml components

10basetom
      Hi guys,

I'm just getting started in Flex, using the Dashboard sample app as my training ground:

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/samples/dashboard/

For anyone not familiar with this sample app, here's the basic layout:

• dashboard.mxml - main application that calls AllRegions.mxml, RegionDetail.mxml, and RegionBreakdown.mxml
      • RevenueTimeline.mxml - provides chart class
      • AllRegions.mxml - subclass of RevenueTimeline that instantiates chart
      • RegionDetail.mxml - subclass of RevenueTimeline that instantiates chart
      • RegionBreakdown.mxml - pie chart panel

My goal is very simple: I've declared a variable in dashboard.mxml that contains the string "Revenue":

quote:

public var timeline:String = "Revenue";

All I'm trying to do is access this 'timeline' variable from within the RevenueTimeline, AllRegions, RegionDetail, and RegionBreakdown components. Right now "Revenue" is hard-coded everywhere (e.g., tool tips, column header in grid view), so was trying to do something like this instead:

quote:

private function formatDataTip(hitData:HitData):String
      {
      var name:String = hitData.item.name;
      var revenue:Number = hitData.item.revenue;
      return "<b>Month: " + name + "</b><br>' + timeline + ': " + cf.format(revenue);
      }

What's holding me back is that I can't seem to find a way to pass the variable that I declared in dashboard.mxml to all of the other four components (RevenueTimeline, AllRegions, RegionDetail, RegionBreakdown). I'm at the end of my rope here, so I was hoping someone can offer a quick solution or lead me in the right direction. I've read about view states, but it seems a little over the top for me; I'm not changing layouts depending on states or anything.