9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2015 2:31 PM by dougward

Is there a way to render Faster ??

dougward Level 1

Hi Everybody-

I'm kinda new to AE, and so far i'm having a great time learning, I have recently down loaded some AE Photo Slide Show templates and after I've made my changes, added my photos and saved it, I add it to the "Render Que", I pick my location to save the video and I hit render and it says it will take 5-6 hours to Render,,,,Really ???? it's only a 1 Min. 45 Sec. video and I wouldn't think that it would take that long, but I might be wrong. Below are my spec's

Windows 8.1

6GB Ram

500 GB Hard Drive

Intel Core i5 Processor

Is there anyway I can speed the render process up at all ???

Thanks- Douglas

• 1. Re: Is there a way to render Faster ??
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You have barely enough RAM to let AE run. That would make a difference.

Your processor also makes a huge difference. Yours isn't excellent either.

If the template you're using uses the ray-traced renderer and you don't have the right GPU, it could take a really long time too.

• 2. Re: Is there a way to render Faster ??
            dougward Level 1

Is there a way to change "ray-traced" to something that can speed it up ??

Thanks- Douglas

• 3. Re: Is there a way to render Faster ??

The ray-traced renderer is kinda crappy. The AE team isn't even developing it anymore.

You can change your composition to use the standard renderer in your composition settings>advanced settings.

If the comp uses the ray-traced renderer, it'll look a bit different if you switch it.

• 4. Re: Is there a way to render Faster ??
                dougward Level 1