3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2015 11:50 AM by dj_paige

Need advice on photo and catalog storage options

Badly Drawn Boy Level 1

I have a retina 5K iMac with 500 GB SSD. I have OS X, my music, and my files on the internal drive. I also have an external LaCie Little Big Disk 1 TB drive that I use to store my photo library. I have a couple of HDDs in external enclosures that I use for backup.

Overall this setup has worked well. It is almost completely silent, which I require because I do a lot of audio recording (and because I simply prefer a silent work environment). And it is fast. I'm not editing video and I'm not a pro photographer, but I do a lot of work with layers in Photoshop and I appreciate minimizing the amount of time I'm sitting there waiting for tasks to complete.

However, both my internal drive and LaCie Little Big are starting to get full. If I could go back in time, I would have bought the 1 TB internal SSD with the iMac, but I didn't—and as far as I can tell, there's no way to upgrade that, right?

I would really like to increase the storage size for my photo library, as well. But I want to have a completely silent external drive, or at least a silent work environment. These are the options I'm considering:

• Buy another LaCie Little Big Disk, daisy-chaining it to the first disk, and creating a RAID-0 with them. This would give me 2 TB of insanely fast storage space that is totally silent. But it's $1,200 for another 1 TB of storage, which is very expensive.