6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2006 4:28 PM by pedro123penduko

Using a Tree to display images

LukeSkope
      Ok, so I'm pretty new to Flex, here's my problem

I have a tree whose branches and leaves are defined in actionscript like this
      [Bindable]
      private var xml:XML =
      <root label="Shows">
      <show label="show1">
      <char label="character1"/>
      <char label="character2"/>
      </show>
      <show label="show2">
      <char label="character1b"/>
      <char label="character2b"/>
      </show>
      </root>

I have an HDividedBox with 2 panes, one containing the tree and the other containing an image. I want the image to be relevant to the selected leave, so selecting character1 in the tree will display a picture of character 1, etc.

Can someone help? I will post my entire code if someone thinks that will help.

Thanks
      Luke.
        • 1. Re: Using a Tree to display images
          ntsiii Level 3
          First, this is not a Flex Builder question, so it should go in the General Discussion forum, not here.

Do you have your image display code working? If so, then driving it with the tree should be pretty easy.

Tracy
          • 2. Re: Using a Tree to display images
            LukeSkope Level 1
            How is it not a Flex Builder question?

Flex Builder is the program I am using to write the code, what's the problem?

Yes, it should be pretty easy, obviously I am having trouble getting this seemingly easy task to work.

I can get it to work with buttons & with an accordion, with both images and FLV video in a view stack, and by changing the source on a click event, but for some reason the tree method is not working.

Don't bother posting anything if you're not going to attempt to help.
            • 3. Re: Using a Tree to display images
              ntsiii Level 3