9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2015 6:48 AM by kirillxxx

Performance is worse with GPU Acceleration than without

kirillxxx

I have quite a quick Windows 7 System, based on i7 980X Processor with a monitor @ 2560x1440 pixels. As a photographer, I am processing thousands of photos and my PC can't be quick enough, so I thought I'd invest a bit in a new graphic card. Ok, I haven't bought a Quadro, but with Nvidia's GTX 970 I am still having a modern, quick card, worth over 400$.

My first experiences after installing the new graphics adapter are more then disappointing - many things are running worse that previously without any GPU acceleration. Before, I could scroll from picture to picture almost without any perceptable lags. With GPU acceleration turned on, every next picture has to be "rendered" first - first you get a complitely Pexelated/blurred image and the color flackers shortly, then after a while it gets more and more clear. So it looks like with GPU acceleration turned ON, Lightroom 6 ignores completely the pre-rendered preview pictures - DOES IT MAKE ANY SENSE?! Yes, all sliders in Develop mode work faster, but the preview image shown instantly is a low resolution fake and it still takes time for a high-res image to be rendered - as much time, as it takes rendering it with a CPU.

To me, it would make sense if next picture would be loaded into GPU memory before actually swithing to it and the render of the previous picture would be kept in memory as well. I am also missing some detail settings for GPU acceleration - if it remains at the current, rudimentary level, the best compromise (for me) would be to turn off GPU acceleration for scrolling the pictures but to use it just for develop sliders.

I would wish guus at Adobe to improve the real product, not just marketing slogans about the improved performance!

• 1. Re: Performance is worse with GPU Acceleration than without
          mcucinat Level 3