0 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2015 12:10 PM by martink13271525

Lightroom Photoshop integration

martink13271525

My first post here. I have been using Lightroom and Photoshop for a while so I do know a little bit. Having said that I am pretty stuck at the moment and hope someone can offer some advice.

I am a fairly busy commercial photographer working with three different cameras from a 80 MP Leaf Aptus 12R to a Fuji mirrorless. I generate a lot of images and do my own retouching. A lot of my work is for catalogues. Workflow is crucial because I shoot literally thousands of final images a year. Most images are deepetched, and there the trouble begins.

My preferred workflow is capture tethered to a laptop and once shoot is done convert all images to dng. Basic tonality and colour is done on the shoot using a calibrated NEC monitor. Cameras are profiled of course. DNG files are imported into LR in my commercial catalogue using a collection per client and a key word for that client as well as a job identifier giving the job number. I mention all this to explain how central LR has become in my workflow.

Once imported I head to the develop module to make adjustments to colour and tonality using a lot of the LR tools and many presets to help with productivity. Then I hit command e to edit the image in PS. Images are deep etched using the pen tool. Cropped and straightened using an action to keep things uniform. Blacks are desaturated and dust specks are removed. Product photography attracts a lot of dust and it is much better handled in PS. Then save and the image is back in my LR library in a stack with the original dng.