5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2015 12:39 PM by l.a.hague

Lightroom 5.6/CC will not recognise/import certain CR2 files

l.a.hague

I really hope someone can help, this is holding up some very important work and I can't find a way to fix it.

A few weeks ago, Lightroom 5.6 stopped recognising some CR2 files on my camera memory card (my camera is a Canon Rebel T3/EOS 1100D). When I open up the Import window, it shows previews of some of the files on the card, but some are also greyed out. If I look at what's on the card on my camera, or on Windows explorer (with the RAW viewer plug-in) I can see all the files fine. If I try to import the files into Lightroom, it hangs forever on about 5% and then when I cancel/close it, it says 'No photos or videos were found to import.'

I have a CC subscription too, so I installed the latest version of Lightroom CC to see if that would fix the problem but unfortunately it behaves in exactly the same way.

I've tried:

- copying the photos from the memory card to hard drive using Windows explorer and then importing from there. Still doesn't work.

- copying the photos from the memory card to hard drive and converting to DNG using Bridge CC, then importing from there. Still doesn't work.

Weirdly, Lightroom DOES still recognise CR2 files from the same camera on a different memory card and will import these without any problems. I'm not sure if it may be something to do with having movie files on the card too? The card it recognises files from doesn't have any movie files on. I have a couple of cards that have movie files and JPGs and CR2s, and these are the ones that it can't read the CR2 files from.

I'd be really grateful if any one could give me some ideas of what else I can do to troubleshoot this! Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Lightroom 5.6/CC will not recognise/import certain CR2 files
          dj_paige Level 9