9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2015 5:35 PM by judigo13

upgrading to CC from lightroom 4.

judigo13

I have been working with LR4 on my MacBook Pro for a few years. I have just bought an iMac and I am going to purchase CC for Photographers (LR & Photoshop).

How should I go about this? Should I download CC onto my iMac and then to my laptop (as my second computer)? Then, how will I transfer all of my work from LR4 to both so it is not lost? This may be straightforward but it's a puzzle to me.

• 1. Re: upgrading to CC from lightroom 4.
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Quit LR4 and make a backup.

Download and install Creative Cloud on the MBP. Use this link. CC Desktop is your central management control for all of the CC apps.

https://creative.adobe.com/products/creative-cloud

I would suggest you install Photoshop CC 2015 first, followed by Lightroom CC 2015. Simply click on the install button next to each app.

You should be able to choose to upgrade your existing catalog. It will then be transferrable to the iMac.

Install CC Desktop on the iMac from the same link.

You will then need to copy the image files, previews and catalog to the iMac. See the link below  – video tutorial - Moving to a new computer.

If you follow this procedure you get the benefit of ensuring everything works properly on the laptop before transferring to the new iMac.

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/adobe-evangelists-julieanne-kost/how-to-migrate-lr-to-another-co mputer/

• 2. Re: upgrading to CC from lightroom 4.
            ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Jon has you pointed in the right direction for installing the software on both computers.