30 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2016 1:17 AM by sanyamt

TEXT FRAME CRASHES INDESIGN

Clint Boland Level 1

What is happening?!?! This is only a recent problem for me and I've used indesign for nearly 10 years!

After attempting to open the supposedly corrupt file, is says there's an invalid text frame. It prompts with a question of whether I want to delete it. This happens for all the text frames in the document. NO MATTER my answer, indesign crashes every time. This isn't on all documents, it just randomly happens and I have no other solution than to lose all the time I've worked on something and recreate it.

I'm a professional designer and this is unacceptable! What is happening? Why is it happening? And is there anything I can do to fix this???

I use Adobe CC and have the most recent update. Please help!

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 12.45.11 AM.png

• 2. Re: TEXT FRAME CRASHES INDESIGN
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I'd try the blind export script found at Adobe Community: InDesign 6 is crashing when attempting to open a particular document. All others are opening OK., but I suspect your file may be damaged beyond recovery. There is a bug that has cropped up in CC from time to time where ID loses track of the geometric bounds for a frame, but I've never seen a report quite like this one.

• 3. Re: TEXT FRAME CRASHES INDESIGN
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Peter Spier wrote:

.. There is a bug that has cropped up in CC from time to time where ID loses track of the geometric bounds for a frame, but I've never seen a report quite like this one.