3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2015 8:29 PM by Qwertyfly...

Hello World - not working for 64bit illustrator

Qwertyfly... Level 4

Hi all,

I have been scripting illustrator for a few years now and would like to delve into Plugin/Extension creation.

so to get started I downloaded the SDK and worked my way through the HelloWorld example in the Getting Started with Adobe Illustrator CC 2015 Development.pdf.

The first thing I noticed is the "..\..\illustratorapi\adm;" does not exist in the SDK but I added it anyway as the getting started doc says to. does not seem to throw an error.

My real issue is that once compiled and saved to the plugin folder I get a popup when illustrator CC2015 starts saying:

Error Loading Plugin.

HelloWorld.aip

when I run illustrator CC (which is 32bit) I get the correct Hello World and Goodbye World as expected

I'm new to VisualStudio and C++, so was relying on some simple tutorials to get me started.

can anyone shed some light on what I need to do to get this running in the 64bit software?

and if anyone can point me at some good tutorials that will help me get a grasp of plugin creation, I would be very grateful.

I'm Using Win7 and VS2013

Here is the Build Output from VS2013:

1>------ Build started: Project: HelloWorld, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------

1>  HelloWorld.cpp

1>  IAIUnicodeString.cpp

1>  Generating Code...