26 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2015 4:00 AM by Geoff the kiwi

2015 and NO Network Drive Functionality - WOW!!!

WHB

I am Programmer

I am a Photographer

I am an IT Professional

I purchased LR 6 yesterday

What a stinking pile of crap - honestly. Adobe, you have to be one of the laziest and out of touch companies in modern computing.

Your crap software spews background services and programs all over the PC.

Your support is garbage and your sales staff have no clue what they are talking about.

You continue to push people toward the "cloud" even if they have no desire to be there.

Your LR 6 software lacks any reasonable ability to work with photos stored on a network drive. LAUGHABLE!

I am sure that there are countless professional photographers and hobbyists running around with their 2TB of photographs piles on their desktop PC's or laptops. Just because they are happy to do it does not mean that it is a good idea, or right. Nonetheless, it is astounding that in 2015 your premier photo management software DOES NOT support storing a catalog on a network drive, auto-import from network drives, loading catalogs from network drives, etc.  What is even more amazing, instead of making the functionality available or optional, your code monkeys have gone to GREAT LENGTHS to prevent workaround for those of us who know how to use mklink, iSCSCI, etc,

You see Adobe, here in the real world, some of us work from networked storage. We have spent a great deal of money building a highly redundant RAID array and/or use VMs to ensure our hard work is robust, redundant and available. You nitwits, in a fell swoop, force us all to use the least common denominator, LOCAL STORAGE.

Get your heads out of your backsides and start paying attention to the real world. Honestly...

• 1. Re: 2015 and NO Network Drive Functionality - WOW!!!
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Well, you are partly correct....

Your images can be located on a network drive, if you desire.