2 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2017 3:54 PM by learner1

lightroom "lost" all data from last 6 months with no error message.

nutmix5

I have been using lightroom for many years.  I fired it up today, and around 1/4 of my data is "gone".  By gone, I mean the folders have disappeared from the left menu, as have the hundreds of hours of work in the collections they were in have also gone, its as if lighroom has gone back in time by 6 months. I have probably lost work done on 10,000 photos.

There has been no error message, no indication of any problem.

I have only ever had one catalog, as I have found different catalogs are too hard to manage.

Windows 8.1, W530 thinkpad with Crucial M550 SSD, 32 GB ram etc.

Luckily, I have the raw photos backed up, but I have lost hundreds of hours of work which I will never have time or be able to get back.

As lightroom continuously updates the DB, I can understand losing say the last few edits if the machine crashes or there is a bug, but going back i time by 6 months?    My machine has never crashed, nor been switched off without shutting down first.

What on earth has happened?

• 1. Re: lightroom "lost" all data from last 6 months with no error message.
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It’s impossible to say what has happened, but let’s be sure of the current situation:

If the raw photos are gone except for a backup of them elsewhere then you’ve actually manually deleted them in LR with a command of some sort and chosen to remove the file from disk and not just remove the settings from the LR database.

If the LR folders aren’t in LR but the folders are still on the disk and the photos are in the folders on disk, then it seems like a catalog issue.