8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2006 6:41 PM by ntsiii

[Binding] metadata tag

eran1 Level 1
      Hi,

i am new to flex, and it seems that i dont understand when the value of one property is being copied to another.

for example

----------- MXML FILE ------------------------------
      [Bindable]
      public var test3:String;
      [Bindable]
      public var test2:String = test3;
      [Bindable]
      public var test1:String = test2;

function some_function():void
      {
      test3 = "value1";
      test3 = "value2";

//1. what is the value of test2 and test3 at this point ?
      //2. if null -> how can i make sure that test2 and test3 are being automatically updated
      // when test1 is being changed ?
      }

thanks,
      Eran.
        • 1. Re: [Binding] metadata tag
          FlightGuy Level 1
          My best suggestion is that you read the section of the developer's guide on Binding Data (Chapter 37). It goes into some detail and also give examples.
          • 2. Re: [Binding] metadata tag
            ntsiii Level 3
            Actually, that should work, and it does not involve binding.
            This:
            public var test2:String = test3;
            assigns a reference to test3 to test2. Any thing using test2 is actually using test3.

Tracy
            • 3. Re: [Binding] metadata tag
              eran1 Level 1
              but test3 is null when we assign its value to test2.
              in java the value of test2 will be null and stay null
              even if we change the value of test3.

is it working differently in flex ??
              • 4. Re: [Binding] metadata tag
                ntsiii Level 3
                You are right. I am confused. I'll post back when I understand this better.

Tracy
                • 5. Re: [Binding] metadata tag
                  FlightGuy Level 1