5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2015 4:42 AM by trshaner

how to create a nostalgic look

Kai Hadlock

I am studying to get my BS in Digital Photography and i would like to know how you would go about achieving a nostalgic or vintage look for  photograph. Editing techniques and tips are certainly what I am here to learn about. Thanks!

• 1. Re: how to create a nostalgic look
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Before going too far, it would probably be a good idea to define "nostalgic look".

• 2. Re: how to create a nostalgic look
            Chuck Uebele Adobe Community Professional & MVP

As ManiacJoe mentioned, it depends upon what nostalgic look you want. Most are done with curves: flattening or washing out highlights, and bring up the deep blacks to show signs of fading (B&W & color). For color, there is the cross processing, which seems to be popular, but to me just reminds me of either bad processing or faded prints - worked too long in a photo lab correcting bad color. With this, the separate RGB curves are shifted to give (usually) blue shadows and yellow highlights, but it can be most any color combination. This can be done with the curves in LR's development module.

• 3. Re: how to create a nostalgic look
              Kai Hadlock Level 1