5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2015 6:26 AM by try67

Deselect existing checkbox

vin22 Level 1

Hello,

I am new to Javascript for Acrobat programming.

I have a standard Acrobat tool window (Acrobat XI) that has some checkbox checked by default. I would like to add a javascript that deselect automatically those checkbox.

Is there a way I can get a reference and access the 'standard' checkbox and perform actions on them?

Thank you

• 1. Re: Deselect existing checkbox
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I don't know what you mean by a "standard" check-box, but assuming it's a form field you can access it using the getField method, and then set its value to "Off" to de-select it. Something like this:

this.getField("FieldName").value = "Off";

• 2. Re: Deselect existing checkbox
            vin22 Level 1

I mean that it is a checkbox of Acrobat UI interface, it is inside one of the Acrobat tool window. So it is not a custom form field.

This is why I don't know how to get the 'fieldName' related to that checkbox

Or, as alternatives, If I create an Action from the Action Wizard, is it possible to activate that custom action from Javascript?

Thanks

• 3. Re: Deselect existing checkbox

The check-boxes in the Acrobat GUI are not something you can access with a script, although some specific settings (very few) can be. If you specify what you want to do I could tell you if it's scriptable, but the chances are it's not.

I don't see how it's related to your first question, but no, you can't run an Action from a script.

• 4. Re: Deselect existing checkbox
                vin22 Level 1

I would like to activate the remove hidden tools with a single UI itneraction, and I need to select only few 'hidden' elements to remove.

If I create my custom action I can assign it to the toolbar but then I have to interact with the toolbar at first and then with the new opened window to start the action.