7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2015 11:08 AM by trshaner

white circle w \ ?

Matt Bouchard

I am new to Lightroom and I am trying to drag photos of a file on an external hard drive.  I have done this with several folders and then I received a white circle at the bottom of the photos and in the white circle is this symbol ( \).  The photos do not go into the folder and are back in Lightroom, where they started. 

Does anyone understand this and have a solution?

• 1. Re: white circle w \ ?
          trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Is this a new drive that is perhaps NTFS formatted? You'll need to format it if on your Mac.

Quick Tip: Solving "Read Only" External Drive Problems on Your Mac - YouTube

• 2. Re: white circle w \ ?
            Matt Bouchard Level 1

TR,

Thank you for replying to my inquiry about the white circle w\ through it.

I watched the attached video several time to be sure I was doing things correctly.  My Seagate - Slim T - 2 already indicated that it was read / write.  But I saved the files on the drive and proceeded to reformat to a Mac only,  Unfortunately this did not correct the problem.  So then, I reformatted once again to the MS - Dos (Fat) as the video suggested.  I still have the problem.

I was originally using Mac’s Aperture software and they are no longer supporting it.  I switched to Photoshop & Lightroom, and downloaded the Aperture Library.  It took a long time (about 11 hours) but everything came over and in the same file structure that I had set up over the last five years.

I am able to drag and drop some of my old folders but not all - I am more perplexed than anything.  I had been working for some time adding these files to the Seagate external drive and then all of a sudden, one file would not drag over.