5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2015 9:45 AM by Dave LaRonde

Long Horizontal Scrolling Text - VERY LONG

jabbamonk

First off... I'm pretty new to After Effects (although I'm used to Photoshop and Illustrator). 

I am editing a video for a friend. It is a video that spans across 3 screens (so the artboard is 3 times as wide - at 8895x1646). There are a ton of names that horizontally scroll across the screen in the video (there are 4 rows of names, and each row has over 100 names). Initially, the document was put together using text in After Effect. This uses alot of resources (the computer is running slow, and any rendering I do fails). Also, each row of names is broken into 5 parts, because components can't seem to be over a certain width (is that correct?).  This complicates adding future names, and modifying the animation. I want to see if there is another way to put the document together. A way that saves resources and makes rendering simpler (quicker, and less of resource hog).

I saw online that someone recommended to avoid using a bunch of text in after effects (due to the resource beast that the program is with text). They recommended that the text be placed in an image, and the image be placed into after effects (and then animated across the page ... this way, after effects moves a single object, and not so many characters of text). However, if I do this, I end up with an image that is 277,943 pixels wide by 1646 pixels. I need those 277,943 to scroll across the 8895 area. But, as you could guess, the large image wont import into After Effects (too wide).

Any other solutions?  Please keep in mind that my knowledge of After Effects is limited, so please explain in laymen terms. Also, video references are definitely appreciated. Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: Long Horizontal Scrolling Text - VERY LONG
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant