6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2015 12:24 AM by MrTIFF

Top & Bottom Bleed on vertical facing pages

mackerr Level 1

Hi,

I'm fairly new to ID having recently decided to migrate from another well known page layout product.

I have a 20 page horizontal booklet which is stitched along the long edged so it has facing pages but they face vertically rather than horizontally; the format often used in wall calendars.

I am struggling to set up the bleed correctly. If it were a more usual facing pages document, so stitched vertically, I could just set up the bleed for, say, 3mm on the outside top and bottom and set it to zero on the inside. However with the format I have I don't seem to be able to find how I can achieve the same result.

I was hoping there'd be a way to set different bleed on different master pages but I can't seem to find that either.

Any help much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Top & Bottom Bleed on vertical facing pages
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Moved to InDesign forum

• 2. Re: Top & Bottom Bleed on vertical facing pages
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Projects like this are typically set up as normal facing pages, the the spread view is rotated 90 degrees clockwise to make the spine horizontal. If the finished pages are landscape and the binding is on top, you would set up as portrait and add your bleeds top, bottom, and outside (typically you would not need inside bleed at the spine) unless you have special binding requirements, in which case you can add that, too.

In the doc setup dialog when you work this way, the the top and bottom bleed values will be left and right on the finished pages, and outside will be the top and bottom edges of the finished spread.

• 3. Re: Top & Bottom Bleed on vertical facing pages
              mackerr Level 1