6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2015 1:59 AM by gfcmsantos

EXPORTED PDF FILE IS HUGE

gfcmsantos

Hi everybody, I am an indesign rookie and I am having a freaking problem with a WIP project that i apreciate any help:)

My customer wants to create a numbered worksheet books a5 that could print and use it to do some drawings and take some notes for their works. The worksheets should be numbered respecting an according series in books of 50 pages.

I already have the design approved, one table with some text,a header with text and blank space that should be filled in by hand after the print, the logo, and the data variable placed. Then i tried to do the data merge process too, using a .txt file, generated 200 records, multiple records, with no oversea text that i checked previously with prefligh functionality, and the first problem comes here. When i get the merged document the file generated has 200mb. Aware of the corruption problems and some stuff like that i export to .inml (i think that is the correct extension) and i get a new file with 16mb. I think that the problem has been solved, but when i try to export the file, i get a pdf with 200mb for 50 simples pages using a pdf preset: smallest file size.

I am a Mac user, using indesign Cs6 and i really dont know what’s going on. Any thoughts?

Here you can find a draft of what should be the final result – (missing the header and the data variable in this version)https://meocloud.pt/link/ba7d3c55-1fb7-40b5-8b08-7f8bb226533e/20150818%20Rascunho.pdf/

• 1. Re: EXPORTED PDF FILE IS HUGE
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

That sounds like a big file, but  it's hard to know. Not all content will compress -- vector art, for example, and if you have a lot of styles or fonts in use, they will take up space, too.

You should probably run the PDF Optimizer in Acrobat to and do a usage audit to see what is using the space, then see if the optimizer can get rid of some stuff you don't need.