22 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2015 6:01 PM by A.T. Romano

Matching output aspect ratio and dimensions to source

camner2

Please pardon me if this is more elementary than I am making out to be, but I am fairly new to Premiere Elements, though I have used PSE on stills since version 2.

I have a number of source clips that come from various sources, particularly iPhones and digicams.  Also, some of these sources are from iCloud photo sharing or videos shared via email, so they have had their size and quality reduced from the original (and I can't get a hold of the originals).

1.  I presume that just as with stills, one should not upsize pixel dimensions, correct?  So, if the source is 320 x 568, I wouldn't want the output to be larger, correct?  Otherwise the video quality will be quite poor.

2.  When I create a new project, I seem only to be able to choose from the available presets, none of which, of course, have the pixel dimensions as small as in my example above.  How do I match the output size to the input size?  If I choose the Advanced button on Publish and Share and try to match the pixel dimensions of the input file, I get a VERY poor quality video.  The only way I can see to preserve the quality is to choose a much larger pixel dimension preset such as iPad 1080p 29.97 which results in a large file (about 4x the file size of the original) and a video at 1920x1080, which then by default shows up on my computer screen as a gigantic video which is of poor quality due to the upsizing which requires a manual drag of the video to make it smaller.

I feel I have to be missing something here.  What I really want to do is to import a clip, due some editing, and then export it in the same size and quality, that is, as close to the original as I can.  Is there a way to do this?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Matching output aspect ratio and dimensions to source
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional