12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2015 4:24 PM by Azza276

Added a new HDD now Rendering doesn't run as fast

Azza276

Hi there,

I've been using Premiere Elements 13 for about a two months. Recently I rendered a video which took a little longer than expected, but the biggest thing I noted was that my CPU was not being pushed.

So I had been using nVidia Shadowplay to record game footage that I edit up for my Youtube Channel. Shadow play outputs in H.264 mp4, but for some reason the last vid I did with it was artifacting between keyframes... But prior, when rendering a Vid it was using my CPU to the max.

Anyway because of the Shadowplay issues, I switched to DxTory, which records in .avi, and produces bigger files. So I bought a bigger HDD (3TB) to accommodate.

So the issue. I rendered my latest video but I noted that the CPU was not working nearly as hard, and the rendering took a little longer than expected.

2 recent changes - Changed the Premiere Elements scratch disks etc all to the new HDD, which is also the location of the source video. Using DxTory and AVI format source.

I render to youtube compatible at 1080HD, H264, mp4 at about 20Mbps (I know YT renders that down to 8Mbps)

PC Specs - i7 4790K, GTX660, 8GB Ram, SSD Operating system drive, but use HDD for Video. I clock my 4790K to 4.7Ghz for rendering, which like previously worked fine and rendering used it all, now it's about 70-80% and it barely raises it temp (whereas before the the cooling fans kicked in)

Anyway, is there something that changed recently that could cause the rendering to not use the full CPU like before?  TIA

Cheers

Azza

p.s. In the latest vid I did have some slow-mo and reverse vid clips, but I would think this would work the CPU harder and only in those spots...

• 1. Re: Added a new HDD now Rendering doesn't run as fast
          Peru Bob Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Is the new hard drive 7200 RPM or 5400 RPM?

• 2. Re: Added a new HDD now Rendering doesn't run as fast