11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2015 4:03 AM by hella1010

I am building a Windows 7 PC for video editing

hella1010

Hi,

A little background. I am building a new PC (Windows 7-64) to be able to have a more efficient (faster) rendering when grading video clips in Resolve LE and in CC 2015 apps.

I would appreciate some expert opinion on CPUs to optimize the system I am building. Not too technical since I am not an expert on CPU parameters that are important.

At the ASUS site it is stated that the Z10PE-D8 motherboard is optimized for the Intel Exeon 2600 series. Does this mean I am limited to this?

So far I have purchased the following:

• Cooler Master Cosmos II Ultra Tower
      • ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS, Socket-2011-3 Dual Processor
      • Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 4 GB
      • Crucial DDR 4 - 2x16 GB (Plan to add 2x16 GB for total of 64 GB)
      • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD Drive
      • 2x Seagate Barracuda 2 TB in RaiD-0
      • Corsair 850 W PSU

I also have a 12 GB NAS from my current system.

I have not purchased the CPUs yet. Simply because there is so much contradicting info only to confuse me more than it helps.

I would like some input on my options for 2 CPUs for this Motherboard.

Budget wise I would like to stay below $ 2000 for both CPUs.

Any help here is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: I am building a Windows 7 PC for video editing
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP