11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2006 1:36 PM by kglad

text input

kerrimead Level 1
      I am new to flash. I am coming from a director background.

I want to do something that is easy in director but I am not understanding it in Flash.

I want to provide a text input and I want to only allow certain characters and I want to perform actions on certain characters. If I create a text input with the text tool, it seems I am not allowed to put actions on that object. If I use a text input component, I am stuck with a lot of default behavior I don't want. I have been able to write an on keypress function but it doesn't stop the default behavior. In director, you can catch the event first and then choose to pass on to the built in behavior or not.

Can anyone tell me how to do this in Flash?

And why can't I put behaviors on text boxes created with the text tool?
        • 1. Re: text input
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          you can use the restrict property of textfields to restrict the characters allowed and you can use the onChanged property of textfields to detect when a user changes the text property of your textfield.
          • 2. Re: text input
            kerrimead Level 1
            Thanks for your reply.

I tried restrict and it does part of what I want. My only problem with it is that I want the dash (-) character in the restrict string but it has a special meaning for 0-9 or a-z and so I can't make restrict recognize it as a character that I want to allow. Does that make sense? Do you know how to do that?
            • 3. Re: text input
              use the escape character (backslash) to designate a dash.
              • 4. Re: text input
                kerrimead Level 1
                Thanks again for the reply. I tried that and it didn't work but I tried again and I still can't get it to work.

this.restrict = "0-9 +xX*=rR()//-";

I want both the backslash and the dash to work. The backslash works but not the dash.