3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2015 10:50 AM by Rick Gerard

Trying to create an effect of lines being drawn by fingers?

DirtDauber

I have a small clip I am working on for a music video. I am COMPLETELY new to AE and similar programs with only a few projects under my belt. I'm having a hard time researching the particular effect I am looking for because I have no idea what it would be called. So i've uploaded the clip to my Youtube channel in hopes that one of you can look at it and tell me which effect I need and possibly give me a small set of instructions if it isn't too much to ask.

Here's the clip: https://youtu.be/co5NLPJ4ndU

Here's what I want to do. At the 0:06 second mark he draws a TV with his fingers. I am trying to make it seem as if he is drawing a tv frame (Bold lines) that follow the timing of his fingers. After the lines are drawn I plan on adding a small "static" clip inside the square to complete the "tv". I have tried using the drawing tool to make a path and then using the stroke effect to follow the path. But I have had little luck so far. I hope to hear from you guys. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Trying to create an effect of lines being drawn by fingers?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are two ways to go about this. The first is to simply add a solid above the video, change the blend mode of the solid to something like screen so you can see through it, then draw two masks that follow the outline of the fingers. Both should be open paths. Now simply apply Stroke to the mask path and have it paint on transparent and fix the blend mode.