5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2006 1:06 PM by P_Jim

Help with simple xml menu

Presto-X
      Hello guys,

I’m new to xml in flash so bare with me here. I’m using the XML Menu that came bundle with Flash 8. I want the menu to go to frames in my movie not web links. I tried changing out the code getURL(this.data.href, "_blank"); with gotoAndPlay( ); from the XmlMenu.as file but it did not like that at all. I’m guessing its something really easy that I’m missing.

Any help would be great thanks guys.
        • 1. Re: Help with simple xml menu
          Bob_Robertson Level 1
          I'm likewise new to XML, but I'll try to help with principles until someone better comes along.
          What clip is gotoAndPlay()ing?
          • 2. Help with simple xml menu
            Presto-X Level 1
            well right now gotoAndPlay( ); is located in the XmlMenu.as file, I'm not sure but I'm guessing I'm going to need to add some code inside the gotoAndPaly action. I'm not sure if that is what "this.data" does or not but I would think it's going to need to know to look for info in the menu.xml file and add that content in the gotoAndPlay action.

would I setup the link like this in the xml file?
            <menu name="Home" href="43" /></menu>
            <menu name="Services">
            <submenu name="Marketing" href="44" />
            <submenu name="Advertising" href="45" />
            </menu>
            • 3. Re: Help with simple xml menu
              Bob_Robertson Level 1