9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 5:21 AM by RjL190365

My budget is 500 dollars max.

grobert93

I am a college student who is looking for a laptop that can run AAE (and PP + PS) well enough for casual use. I will use college labs for high end video editing, but wanted a portable laptop to carry around for minor edits and casual use. I have been recommended at least 8gb of ram and a i5 processor, but most of these run 500 dollars or more. I am willing to get refurbished. I am uncertain what specs I can get away with for casual use, while not blowing 500+ dollars.

• 1. Re: My budget is 500 dollars max.
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Find a refurbished machine that runs either Win 7 or Mavericks, trick that baby out with RAM (very important!) and you ought to be good to go.

• 2. Re: My budget is 500 dollars max.
            Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I hope you know that it is necessary to run off AC power to successfully edit on a laptop.  On battery power all laptop vendors throttle back the CPU and GPU making editing impractical.

• 3. Re: My budget is 500 dollars max.
              cc_merchant Level 4

Assuming you want to edit more than standard definition DV material, you need at least a 4-core Intel, preferably with HT, at least 16 GB memory, and a full HD screen, running off a SSD and an external USB3 Samsung T1 SSD for media. If you double the budget you may be lucky to find a refurbished one with these specs, otherwise you need to save some more. Also invest in a power cable, since the battery is not usable.

• 4. Re: My budget is 500 dollars max.
                RjL190365 Level 4