4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2015 8:00 AM by KARM13

removing pixelation on oval fade in

KARM13 Level 1

Okay.. so i am fairly new to AF.

Basically i used the ellipse tool to make several ovals on a transparent background, i want them to fade in and out individually and then all at the same  time.

But! no matter what i do with different transitions and opacity they always fade in pixels at a time.. My question is, How do i stop them from fading in pixelated?

• 1. Re: removing pixelation on oval fade in
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Without knowing your exact comp settings and parameters for opacity and colors nobody can tell you much. Typically one would work in 16bpc or even 32bpc to reduce artifacts, but even then accumulated transparencies may cause quantization and banding. That's just how it is.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: removing pixelation on oval fade in
            KARM13 Level 1

16bpc 32bpc? im new to all this... :s

• 3. Re: removing pixelation on oval fade in
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Without seeing a screenshot of your project or a detailed description of your workflow I can only guess. Opacity changes do not create pixels that are not already there. You may have your Composition Panel set up with a zoom factor of more than 100%. You may be seeing banding because of subtle color differences. You may be seeing the transparency grid.