8 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2006 8:07 AM by _postdBy(Vern);

Setting up my local machine as a server

_postdBy(Vern);
      I use a Dell Workstation with multiple HDDs. My C: drive and my work files are both SCSI drives. I have installed WMAP on my C: drive but can't understand what I need to do to get my files to preview in my web browser. The files are located on my second SCSI, designated as the F: drive. http://localhost shows a WAMP splash page that tells me the server is correctly setup.

I am not very experienced at ALL with this stuff. I am trying to switch over to DW from Homesite so I can do more locally before uploading, but I need to test the PHP files before uploading. Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!

Using WinXP Pro, DWMX. Dual Xeon Processors, and 1Gig RAM. The WAMP package included Apache, PHP, MySQL, etc. and it all seems to be working properly. I can access MyPHPAdmin and use it.

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Setting up my local machine as a server
          Level 7
          On Sun, 14 May 2006 05:10:11 +0000 (UTC), "_postdBy(Vern);"
          <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote:

>I use a Dell Workstation with multiple HDDs. My C: drive and my work files are
          >both SCSI drives. I have installed WMAP on my C: drive but can't understand
          >what I need to do to get my files to preview in my web browser. The files are
          >located on my second SCSI, designated as the F: drive. http://localhost shows
          >a WAMP splash page that tells me the server is correctly setup.

You have two choices:

1. Move your site files and change your site definition to point to your
          C: drive to the folder your Apache installation is using for its root.

2. Change the Apache configuration to point to your F: drive where your
          site is located.

Gary
          • 2. Re: Setting up my local machine as a server
            _postdBy(Vern); Level 1