6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2017 3:29 AM by Roei Tzoref Branched to a new discussion.

Mosaic photo reveal?

gnm2810

I want to make a mosaic photo reveal such as the one here at 1.13-1.34: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edCniHS8oZg. I do not want to purchase the effect, as I want to be able to build it from scratch. I am an absolute beginner, so any information or tutorials would be much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Mosaic photo reveal?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

That's just a big image overlayed onto the underlying image grid to tint it. Basic blending modes stuff.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Mosaic photo reveal?
            gnm2810 Level 1

How would I do the animation of the smaller images dropping into place? As I said I am an absolute beginner at After Effects.

• 3. Re: Mosaic photo reveal?
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The technique you are trying to copy is using advanced animation and alignment techniques to distribute layers and animate their path in 3D space. There are several shots in the example video. I would start with each one as a separate comp then edit each comp in Premiere Pro or if your transitions are simple you can edit them in After Effects.

When starting to lay out a project like this you want to think in reverse and work backwards breaking down each movement into separate animations so you don't get overwhelmed. In this example you want to end up with something like this:

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 4.48.25 AM.png

The intro to the video says drop 100 photos but this grid is 33 X 19 so if each grid is going to be a unique photo you'll need 627 photos to end up with something like the preceding shot. The grid lines can be achieved with the Generate>Grid effect so that part is easy.

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 4.53.48 AM.png