6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2015 6:52 PM by gunterp51880282

Premier Elements 4 low System Memory

gunterp51880282

I have been using Adobe Premier Elements 6 successfully for around 8 years. I'm currently working on my latest project and whilst transferring video clips/photos from files stored on my PC I get the message "Adobe Premier Elements is running low on system memory. Please save your projrct and proceed with caution". From that moment on I can't do anything, as Premier Elements simply stops working! The file size was 946 KB? My PC is a DELL XPS 420. The latest data has been filmed with my new SONY HDR - JP410 camcorder.

Can anyone help me please? I'm 77 years of age and would appreciate it very much if terminology used can be understood by a person my age, thank you.

[Title edited for clarity... Mod]

• 1. Re: Premier Elements 6 low System Memory
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>latest data has been filmed with my new SONY HDR - JP410

I will GUESS that your new camera uses a High Definition codec that does not play nice with your old program

Codec tutorial on Vimeo https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1567965

Codec & Format information, with 2 links inside for you to read http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1270588

Exactly what is INSIDE the video you are editing?

Report back with the codec details of your file, use the programs below... A screen shot works well to SHOW people what you are doing https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1070933 for screen shot instructions

Free programs to get file information for PC/Mac http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download

• 2. Re: Premier Elements 6 low System Memory
            A.T. Romano Level 7

gunterp

Please double check the name of the program that you have been using. There is no Premiere Elements 6. The Premiere Elements versions are 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 (13 is the current version). Adobe skipped the names Premiere Elements 5 and 6.