9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2015 1:21 PM by A.T. Romano

Premiere Elements crashed with a fatal error

walts544460

I've been using Premiere Elements 7 for a few years. Today, it crashed with a fatal error. I get the same error message if I turn off my computer and try to open saved or auto-saved versions.  I uninstalled elements 7 and reinstalled it from a disk (3 times now). When I try to continue editing, I get an "Error 1" message and reinstall it (again, and again, and again)  How do I fix this problem? 

I only use this computer for video editing and it has never been connected to the internet.

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements crashed with a fatal error
          A.T. Romano Level 7

walts

What computer operating system is involved? Please consider what is applicable to your particular situation.

How did you reinstall and activate Premiere Elements 7 without being connected to the Internet during the install?

Suggestion...

Uninstall the program the usual Control Panel way.

Do a free ccleaner run through (regular and registry cleaner parts) to get rid of leftovers from incomplete uninstall reinstalls from Adobe and non Adobe products. CCleaner - Download

Reinstall the program with antivirus and firewalls disabled.

Go through the usual drill...

a. Latest version of QuickTime installed on your computer along with Premiere Elements, and are you running the programs as administrator?

b. Does the problem exist with and without antivirus and firewalls disabled?

c. Is your video card/graphics card driver version up to date according to the web site of the manufacturer of the card or manufacturer of the computer?

d. Are these fatal crashes happening just trying to open the program from the Desktop icon or later when you are in an opened project?

Let us start here and then decide what next.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements crashed with a fatal error
            walts544460 Level 1

Thank you very much for your response ! ! !