14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2015 12:57 PM by R Neil Haugen

Best, Fastest External Drive with Certain Specs

Mykill G Level 1

Not sure what is the best forum to post in, but I assume Premiere users have a lot of assets and lots of need for storage, as well as the ability to read video files directly from the external drive.

My iMac is filling up as is my PC. Now, I not looking for just STORAGE, but a fast drive I can store ALL assets on and that can read very quickly.

My wish list:

- a USB 2/3 connection (for cross platform access). I have USB 3 ports on my PC, but I always have issues with them, but not the USB 2 ports

- a Thunderbolt connection (don't have one on the older iMac, but will upgrade soon)

- an eSata connection for super fast PC copying/streaming

- 2TB and up

- HOPEFULLY, and I know this may be wishful thinking here, no "wall wart" power supply

I am relatively new to video, but am a designer at a screen print shop with about 1.5 TB worth of design assets. I am learning Premiere to edit a music video already filmed, and will in the future learn After Effects for motion graphics.  So, I need a drive that can hold all (or at least MOST) my assets, that I can port back and forth between my Mac and PC with the ability to stream/read videos & Premiere/After Effects projects and very large PSD files directly from the drive. I know I should probably not read and write to the same disc, so possibly get another of the same drive to write to.

My iMac is standard 27" from 2011 with upgraded ram, but again, will be upgrading soon. The PC is a BEAST; custom built for live audio recording and music production work and sound-to-picture work. 3.2 Ghz, 6 core AMD processor (though thinking about replacing it with a top-speed i7), and after I install the new ram, 16 gB of ram.