15 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2015 3:02 AM by bob.gee

Right way to create a fluid page

bob.gee

Ok... I am new to Dw and its my intention to create a fluid page website. During the creation of the index page, I have got the following below

<div class="gridContainer clearfix">

<div id="LayoutDiv1">

I am not sure if I should be modifying these containers, or even if they are necessary.

The first object I want to add is a header to hold a navigation bar.

Can someone please explain to me how to achieve this.

Thanks in advance

BOB.G

• 1. Re: Right way to create a fluid page
          Nancy OShea Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I assume you're using the legacy Fluid Grid layouts feature.  Not my first choice, but OK.

.gridContainer is the parent container for your Fluid layout.  You must use it or it won't work.  What you put inside it is up to you.  Below is an example using semantic  HTML5 tags.

<div class="gridContainer clearfix">

<header> Your header</header>

<nav>Your navigation</nav>

<section>Some content</section>

<article>Main content</article>

<aside>Secondary main content</aside>

<section>Some content</section>

<footer>Your footer</footer>

<!--end gridContainer--></div>

• 2. Re: Right way to create a fluid page
            bob.gee Level 1

Nancy.... thanks for the rapid response. I tried constructing a header but it did not start at the left end of the screen. instead It started somewhere like 400 pix from the left plus it did not go all the way across to the other end. Any idea what am I doing wrong?

also in your reply, you mention that legacy Fluid Grid layouts feature is Not your first choice. Could you tell me why, and is there a better and easier way to create responsive page. At the moment I am maintaining a Serif Webplus site which I need to make responsive.

Thanks again

BOB.G

• 3. Re: Right way to create a fluid page

By default, the gridContainer has margins & is centered on larger viewports.