16 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2015 1:32 AM by Peter Spier

How to keep a master page item editable

kristenkakos Level 1

Hi all,

I've been working in inDesign for a while now, learning from tutorials and web searches.  I know that what I want to do is possible, and am having trouble accomplishing it.  Do you have time to help, or point me in the right direction?

I'm working in inDesign CS6.

I'm building one of a series of instruction books. Each chapter will be the same - images with instructions underneath.  The way that I've built them so far, I have a master page for each page of the chapter, and have locked all the items on that page so that I don't accidentally click and drag an image or text block out of place. Each page has about 10 items on it.  When dealing with the layout pages,I need to click "Override all master page items" in order to input text or images, because overriding

In this next book, we have a few more background items - for instance, the page numbers will be within a colored circle.  I don't know what color that circle will be yet.  So I'll build it into the master page using the color we have now.  But since the color may change, I want to make sure it will be changeable via changing it in the Master Page.

I think that with the way I am building the Master Pages now, I won't be able to change that item via Master Page. 

Can you help?

I can provide a link to or screen shot of a page of one of the books I've worked on in, which will be very similar in layout to this one, if that helps.

- Kristen

• 1. Re: How to keep a master page item editable
          smoothsea Level 3

Hi Kristen,