4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2015 4:01 AM by Willi Adelberger

Delete original images?

ecpunk

I'm really new to indesign and self taught. I get around fine with the help of you tube (thanks to you guys!)

Can someone explain the following to me/ fill me in.

I'm using Indesign CS6 to make photo books, and I'm wondering if I have to keep the original images or does my Indesign file save them for printing later?

I'm familiar with the broken link when you move an image- but I don't think I understand the concept since it still shows the image on that page.

When I finish a book, I just want to keep the indesign file and discard the images.

How will this work? obviously the broken link error will come up once I do that. But can I proceed like normal?

Thanks for your help!

• 1. Re: Delete original images?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

You need to keep the images, and ID must be able to find them. Broken or out of date links will result in poor quality output. All that is saved inside the file is a low-res screen preview.

• 2. Re: Delete original images?
            ecpunk Level 1

If all that's saved in the file is a low-resolution preview, how come my file is 80 MB? So far I have about 30 pages with pictures on them.

If i keep up at this rate, I will soon be running out of disk space  .

• 3. Re: Delete original images?
              Migintosh Level 4

ecpunk wrote:

…how come my file is 80 MB?