8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2015 7:36 AM by c.pfaffenbichler

Saving files with layer name

shanebettsphotog

Hi

I have a PS file I need to version out to 7 versions of about 45 variations. I have all the layers and groups named so it makes sense and it occurs to me that the correct name for the outputted jpegs would actually be the same name as the current layer.

Does anyone know a way, either with actions or batch automate, to save a file using the currently selected layer as the file name? The file naming options in batch seem really limited.

TIA

Bettsy

• 1. Re: Saving files with layer name
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

Please describe the process in more detail.

And how are existing files of the same name to be handled?

• 2. Re: Saving files with layer name
            shanebettsphotog Level 1

There are no existing files of the same name. I have a master PSD which has a number of layers and groups. I show a layer or group and save as a JPG with that layer/group name (so it's not hard to select the layer/group as I show it). I then show the next or group layer up, rinse and repeat. End result is an unchanged master PSD (aside from hide/show settings) and a folder full of versions named "layer1.jpg, group2.jpg etc".

It seems to me that I need a script (or I need to write one) that allows me to select the name of a layer or group, copy it to the clipboard and then paste it into the naming field of the save as dialogue (which is exactly what I'm doing now, only manually).

BTW, if I were to attempt to save over existing files, I'd be fine if it just replaced them (they're easy to replicate) or returned an error or a dialogue asking me what to do. Not fussy. There may even be a way using Applescript to aide and abet...

• 3. Re: Saving files with layer name
              c.pfaffenbichler Level 9
              There may even be a way using Applescript to aide and abet...