10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2015 12:39 PM by trshaner

Lightroom sends images to Photoshop with incorrect orientation?

lauram12098586 Level 1

I am new to Lightroom. I am accustomed to using Bridge. Therein, the orientation I utilized in Bridge is retained to Photoshop. Now with Lightroom, I've oriented my images individually. But (using the menu option "Photo > Edit in > Edit original") Photoshop doesn't open them in the orientation I've utilized in Lightroom. What's more, when I save the file from Photoshop, it is reoriented incorrectly again in Lightroom. So I have had to reorient photos 3 times. Isn't there a better way? I would prefer to orient my images in Lightroom, because the keystroke is fast and can be applied to multiple images.

• 1. Re: Lightroom sends images to Photoshop with incorrect orientation?
          sarsaxen Adobe Employee (Admin)

Hi lauram12098586,

Would you please check whether you are editing an original image or a copy with Lightroom adjustments.

Do you see the following window while opening an image (jpeg, psd or tiff) in Photoshop from Lightroom?

editps.png

Please let us know if you are working on Raw files.

Regards

Sarika

• 2. Re: Lightroom sends images to Photoshop with incorrect orientation?
            lauram12098586 Level 1

In this case, Sarika, I would like to crop and not retain he original file. So it's the "Edit Original" option I am always choosing.

• 3. Re: Lightroom sends images to Photoshop with incorrect orientation?
              • This the reason why you are not able to see Lightroom adjustments as they are not visible in the original file

• Would you please give a try editing a copy with Lightroom adjustments and share the result with us?

~Sarika

• 4. Re: Lightroom sends images to Photoshop with incorrect orientation?
                lauram12098586 Level 1