14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2015 12:37 PM by Bob Gates

Which third HD?

Bob Gates Level 2

I am new to using Premiere Pro, mostly editing GoPro footage on a Windows 8.1 computer with Zeon 1650 v3 processor and 16GB RAM.  I currently have a 256GB SSD boot drive for OS and Programs and a 2TB 7200 HD for everything else. I do not want or need a very high end system (e.g. no RAID), but would like better performance at a reasonable cost. From reading the tweakers page and looking at this forum, it seems to me the best way for me to do that would be to install a third hard drive to use for media cache and previews.  I have an old WD Caviar 250GB 7200 rpm drive that I could use.  Or I could buy a new SSD for around $100, something like the Kingston HyperX Savage 240 GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, or the Samsung T1 external 3.0 USB (which I assume would be slower than the other two but easier to install).

So, does this seem like the best next upgrade for my purposes, and if so, would the SSD option be significantly faster then the WD drive that I already have? 

• 1. Re: Which third HD?
          cc_merchant Level 4

First step is to buy a Samsung 850 Pro SSD, not the EVO or a Kingston and attach that to a SATA 6G port internally.

Second step is increasing memory to 32 GB.

• 2. Re: Which third HD?
            Bob Gates Level 2

Thanks very much.  Would the 250GB be sufficient for my purposes? 

Yes, I was going to upgrade the memory.  One expenditure at a time!

• 3. Re: Which third HD?
              Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I seriously doubt you will see any performance increase by putting in a third drive for media cache and previews.  Use the new third drive for your media and exports.

• 4. Re: Which third HD?
                Bob Gates Level 2

OK, now I am confused.  I am pretty new to PPro, but what I had read on tweakers page and elsewhere is to have a separate drive for scratch/previews/cache.