9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2015 11:10 PM by ManiacJoe

I made a big mess ?

monteb58

Hello I'm new to Lightroom, and trying to straighten out a mess I made. I installed a new ssd drive and a larger hard drive for storage. I wanted to use the ssd drive for the programs, lightroom and photoshop and the hard drive to store all the photos. I did a fresh install of lightroom and photoshop. I don't see the catalog on my ssd drive ?  I'm having a hard time trying to figure this all out. in lightroom the catalog is located on a drive I used to backup my system before I started all this when it's hooked up to a usb port so I can start importing and organizing all the photos. when that external drive is not hooked up, lightroom shows the catalog in C:\users\monte\onedrive\pictures\lightroom. why onedrive ? the only thing I can think of is I changed the location of the windows photo and video folders to the new storage drive as I wanted all the phots and video to go there instead of the ssd drive. anyway I have a mess. please I need some advice / help

Thanks

• 1. Re: I made a big mess ?
          ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Your original catalog is where you originally put it, or where you have since moved it to.

LR does not care where the catalog is located, you just open it. See the menu options /file/open/  and /file/open-recent/

If need be, use the OS tools to find your catalog by searching for the *.LrCat files.

Similarly, LR does not care where your images are; it just need to know where that is. If you have moved the images using the OS tools (explorer), you just need to let LR know where you moved them to by going to the Folders panel and "find missing" on the top-level folder(s).

• 2. Re: I made a big mess ?
            Mrinmay Majhi Adobe Employee

Hi Monteb,

Please check and confirm the location of the catalog you are using.

In order to check the location of the catalog, please navigate to Edit > Catalog Settings > General