17 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2015 5:31 AM by cc_merchant

Ideal Specs/Machine for running AfterEffects CS6/CC

Squirreldinho7

I am currently running AfterEffects CS6 on a desktop PC (Intel I5-2400 3.10GHz, 8GB RAM, 64-bit) and also a laptop (Intel I7-4500U, 1.8GHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit), but am finding both of these machines don't have the necessary processing power for me to use the software in a productive and timely fashion.

I was wondering if some of the more experienced AfterEffects users on this forum could recommend some recommended/optimum specs for a desktop PC, or point me in the direction of any online resources that would be of use, that should be more than sufficient for running AfterEffects (most likely the latest CC version, as I have a subscription for this and am only running CS6 still because of a specific plugin). I already have a decent monitor and other peripherals so don't need to worry about these.

Ideally I need to know what sort of processor, how much RAM, and what sort of 3D graphics card would be required, and maybe even just a rough ball-park figure of what this would all cost, but obviously if I just have the specs, I can price it up myself. I know many people prefer using Macs for Adobe products, but ideally I would rather stick to PC if possible, but am willing to consider a Mac too if people really think it makes more sense. I have an iMac at home that has less (8GB) RAM than my laptop (16GB), but seems to run AfterEffects better, so am certainly not ruling it out.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Tom

• 1. Re: Ideal Specs/Machine for running AfterEffects CS6/CC
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

PC makes more sense for AE work recently.