9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2015 10:04 AM by A.T. Romano

WMV file losing frames

jeffgrau

I loaded WMV files that work great in Windows Movie Maker. But the same files in Premier 14 are frequently freezing on a frame and throwing away many following frames. The audio is fine and in sync with the frames that are shown. These are currently the only files in my project and therefore the first files loaded. I am new to Adobe Premier so I assume I did something wrong. But what???????? This seems so basic.

• 1. Re: WMV file losing frames
          A.T. Romano Level 7

jeffgrau

What computer operating system is involved with your Premiere Elements 14 issue?

What is the origin and properties of these .wmv files?

The project is designed to set the project preset automatically to match the properties of the source media based on its analysis of the properties of the first file dragged to the project Expert workspace Timeline.

Please tell us the readings for Editing Mode, Timebase, Frame Size, and Pixel Aspect Ratio (even if they look grayed out) under Edit Menu/Project Settings/General.

With this information, we should be able to see if there is a correct match between project settings and source media.

When you first drag your files to the Timeline, is there no colored line or orange line over them?

Do you have a NTSC project and NTSC files going into that project with an intended NTSC export.

Any mismatches between PAL files and NTSC project or the reverse?

Let us start here and then decide what next based on the details in your reply. Lots more to go but we need the above to build on.

Any questions or need clarification on anything written above, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: WMV file losing frames
            jeffgrau Level 1

Editing mode: Sony XD CAM EX 720p

Timebase: 30 frames/second

Pixel aspect ratio: Square Pixel 1.0

Framesize: 640 x 480

Lines over clip are yellow when dragged to timeline