4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2015 12:34 PM by pkroll

Editing Text Atrociously Slow in CC2015

RyanPatch Level 1

Hello -

I am a less-experienced AE user, so I am hoping that someone will be able to help me pinpoint what's going on here.

I am an editor and I use AE for a subtitle workflow on foreign-language films that I do.  I import a subtitle file (in .SRT format) using AE script's Subtitle Importer.  This makes one text layer with keyframes that change the "Source Text" over the course of the comp.  I can then lay this comp into Premiere and then I have very nice, consistent subtitles that I can tweak at any time using dynamic link.  I have been using this workflow for a couple of years and it's worked pretty well.

However, upon upgrading to CC2015 there is a large problem with this.  Editing the text on this subtitle later has gotten INCREDIBLY slow - a 10-25 second wait between typing something and seeing the result onscreen.  While waiting for the typed text to appear, I can select the text in the text box and SEE the shape of the typed text (so AE knows it's in there) but it takes a long time to get the text onscreen.  Also, re-positioning the playhead on the timeline takes a similar amount of time to change the preview.  This amount of time is cut down slightly if 1/4 rez is selected, but not by much.

Adding NEW text layers is very snappy.  Other AE work is just as quick as before.  But these hour-long text layers that change 300 times are SIGNIFICANTLY slower than they were in CC2014 (I have opened this same file in 2014 and confirmed - it works great).  The slowness also seems to be relatively proportional to how many keyframes the subtitle layer has on it (more = slower).

Ironically, when this comp is imported into Premiere, it plays back much smoother.