2 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2006 9:46 AM by Mazuho

StepFrame

Mazuho
      I'm feeling very dumb right now. I have tried oh so many exampled of stepframe, but I still can't implement it in my own code. My guess is that it's because I'm not a seasoned programmer that I don't really get the actorlist thing. I'm having several movie scripts that control my 3d member, and when the player shoots with his/her tank I want a bullet soaring through the air and eventually hitting the ground. And this is were stepframe comes into action. I have one script which contains the info for how the bullet should travel, and Í want stepframe to call this every frame. Here is how I have put up the code.

on shoot me
      (the actorlist).append me
      end

on stepframe
      trajectory
      end

This is in one movie script. The trajectory script is in another movie script. I am not very good at lingo, so I have propably misunderstood how I am supposed to call scripts in other movie scripts. Well, thanks for any help!
        • 1. Re: StepFrame
          James Newton, ACP Level 3
          The code that you show looks correct... but you say that it is in a Movie Script. The 'me' parameter that you are using will be <Void> if 'on shoot me' is in a Movie Script: placing VOID on the actorList will have no effect.

You could change your code to this:

-- Movie Script

on shoot()
          vBullet = script("Bullet").new()
          (the actorList).append(vBullet)
          end shoot

-- Parent Script named "Bullet" --

on new(me)
          return me
          end new

on stepFrame(me)
          me.trajectory()
          end stepFrame

on trajectory(me)
          -- This is where all your calculations go
          end trajectory